Ayacucho designated as Creative City will bring new development opportunities

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) declared 66 new cities to be part of its Creative Cities Network for World Cities Day, which was celebrated on 31 October.

The total number of participating cities is 246. This network brings together cities that base their development on creativity, whether through music, crafts and popular arts, design, cinema, literature, digital arts or gastronomy.

Ayacucho and Arequipa are part of the Creative Cities Network, thanks to the designation of 66 new cities.

UNESCO’s Creative Cities are committed to placing culture at the heart of their development strategy and to sharing best practices.

Audrey Azoulay, Director-General of UNESCO, pointed out that creative cities make culture not an accessory, but a pillar of their strategy, which is a test of political and social innovation, as well as a powerful signal for younger generations.

Vidal Armando Huamán Quispe, deputy manager of Culture, Tourism and Handicrafts of the Provincial Municipality of Huamanga, indicates that Unesco’s recognition of Ayacucho’s heritage was in the category of Handicrafts and Popular Art. In addition, it mentions that it means the opening of new opportunities.

It is important to take advantage of the cultural richness and find new markets, since Ayacucho is in the eye of the world.

On the part of the Subgerencia de Cultura, Turismo y Artesanía, activities are planned to strengthen and spread the crafts and the different popular arts of Ayacucho.

In addition, the assistant manager, mentioned that there is a project of the new tourist circuit that will consist of the construction of a new Tourist Complex Vivencial.

On the occasion of the designation of Ayacucho as a Creative City, today in the Plaza de Armas will begin the fair of artisanal producers that will last until November 8, efforts were made so that this recognition can be delivered by the hands of the President of the Republic as well as the Minister of Culture.